Las Cruces New Mexico Theft Crime Attorneys
Theft is a very general term that covers many specific crimes. There are many different kinds of theft crimes. Some of the most common in New Mexico are:
- Larceny: stealing personal property, like a television set or a car
- Embezzlement: taking something of value that the owner has entrusted to you
- Computer abuse: using a computer to alter records
- Selling encumbered property: selling or in some other way taking property on which someone else has a lien, without their consent
- Fraud: taking anything of value by means of deception
All of the above crimes are charged based on the value of the item taken or damage done.
- $250 or less: petty misdemeanor
- Over $250, but less than $500: misdemeanor
- Over $500, but less than $2,500: fourth degree felony
- Over $2,500, but less than $20,000: third degree felony
- Over $20,000: second degree felony
Note: For theft of certain types of items like firearms, livestock, and vehicles, these penalties are increased.
“Margaret is a great lawyer. From what I have seen, she is one of the best criminal defense lawyers in New Mexico. I highly recommend her.”
—George, New Mexico»Read more testimonials
Extortion: threatening another to obtain anything of value or to compel that person to do or not do something.
- Third degree felony
Burglary: entering a house, business, car, or other structure with the intent to commit a theft or felony while inside
- Burglary of a home is a third degree felony
- Burglary of anything besides a home is a fourth degree felony
Aggravated burglary: burglary involving a deadly weapon or one in which there is a battery
- Second degree felony
Robbery: taking anything from another by force or threat of force
- Third degree felony
Aggravated robbery (or armed robbery): robbery in which the robber is armed with a deadly weapon.
First conviction: second degree felony
Second conviction for armed robbery: first degree felony
Issuing a worthless check: giving a check in exchange for something of value, knowing at the time of the issuing the check that there are insufficient funds for payment of the check.
- Check valued between $1 and not more than $25: special misdemeanor
- Check valued at $25 or more: special felony
Learn more about the McGraw Strickland Law Office.